top of page
Search
  • allisonkt7

Reading Blog 3

Reading this article, I'm not entirely sure I agree with it. This might just be me being unaware of things, but I couldn't really name any preexisting fine art prizes that significantly change the career courses of a number of people. Sure, smaller prizes can help them get their name out there and help them win benefits, but I don't think that alone contributes to their success.

Another thing I would say is: new prizes don't necessarily need to be made. I feel like it would be fair to combine digital art prizes with current traditional fine art prizes. They are both difficult and creative in their own way, and I feel they should be treated as such. If people really insist on some sort of separation, though, I would suggest just making a different version of the same prizes but for digital art. (Such as if there were different prizes of the same caliber for photography, painting, etc.)

But honestly, I feel like hard work or challenging existing standards is what makes an artist stand out. I don't really particularly feel as if prizes are necessary to success, or that it's the only way to succeed. I do recognize that I have a very specific worldview to myself, and this could make a huge change in another person's life. I am only speaking from my own personal point of view.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Project 4 Final Artist Statement

Website: https://pleasant-handsomely-caribou.glitch.me Code: https://glitch.com/edit/#!/pleasant-handsomely-caribou I will be the first to say I was not at all able to accomplish what I'd hoped to wit

bottom of page